WHY ARE WE STILL DRINKING IT ?

“AJ kuch Tufani karte hain “ said a 10 year old boy when I asked him, why you drink soft drinks. I know, it’s not good for my health but I drink it as it is cool to drink them.I feel like doing something toofani just thinking of it now. Who told you this, I asked. The advertisement & the Salman Khan. You know didi, I am big fan of him. My God, I just love him. 

935698_453383251416550_506102599_n

“I want a Yo-Yo life and be cool like Ranveer” said a second year MBA Student. What Ranveer and soft drink has to do each other, I asked. Oh, don’t you know Ranveer is the brand ambassador of Pepsi now. I think it is cool to drink it. I love Ranveer and is a big fan of him. If he is endorsing the brand, then there must be something good about it. 

ranbir-kapoor

I drink it whenever, I get it for free , Said a company employee.  I know it’s not good for my health but free ki tho banti hain ( I have to drink the free one). Free ? Where can you get it for free, I asked ? Oh.. “Cokenawazi “. Have you not seen the new ad of Deepika Padukone. She has set a new trend. We now offer coke to our guest. Whenever I am at my friends house or at a party, drink ample of it. This is the culture these days Pratibha. You must watch that Ad. It’s a good one. 

Ahha…We all fall into the same trap. No one mentioned about the taste, the ingredients, the price, the ill effect of it on our health but they remembered the stars behind them. One of my friend said it rightly, they don’t sell the products but sell the dream behind it. I wonder, how much they consume it themselves ?

But more than what they do, I feel pity about ourselves. Why we don’t think ? Why  we just follow them blindly ? I mean why we fall into this trap ? We know ,it is not good for our health. We know it is just just sugar. We know it contains carcinogenic contents. We know it is not good for our health  and many more things.  But we still just drink it ? Why ?

Let’s find out their effect on our health 

screen-shot-2017-02-25-at-11-10-55-pm

           Source : This is what happens to your body when you drink Coca Cola

“When the Center for Environmental Health released test results showing that Pepsi intentionally covered up the presence of high levels of 4-Mel in its popular soft drinks in 2013, the company denied both the presence of this chemical in its beverages and the fact that it was dangerous. 4-Mel, which is short for 4-Methylimidazole, is a compound that is formed in the manufacturing of caramel coloring, and is a known carcinogen.

Source : Pepsi admits its soda contains cancer-causing ingredients

There are many articles, we can find online who gives us the real picture. Sharing few with you. If you really want to study the topic in detail, can read them :

9 Disturbing Side Effects Of Soda

6 Harmful Effects of Drinking Coca Cola (Coke) or Pepsi

8 Reasons You Should Stop Drinking Pepsi

http://www.thehealthyarchive.info/2014/04/are-pepsi-coke-more-dangerous-then-you.html

I know , we all are going to forget this post tomorrow and will continue drinking the same. It’s an individual choice and I totally respect it. Somehow, it is not even our fault. Soft drinks are everywhere these days and  become a way of life. It has become a habit for most of us. There is a deep psychology involved if we go out to study the advertisement and how it influence our mind. Let’s not go into to as of now.

I know one thing for sure that, we cannot stop them for producing and advertizing it. They will keep coming with more offers, more attractive branding and more creative ads. Let us be aware. Let us please stop and think for a second, before buying the same. Let us make health our priority than the taste. 

Let’s just not  fall into the trap. Life is precious and let’s invest in our health. 

Take care 🙂 

Leave a Reply

